It started with a vision — how to improve the quality of life for Crawford County residents. The Arts Council was born of this vision. In February of 2013 a dedicated group of people started gathering, talking and dreaming of ways to help people find their voice through creative expression. It was their desire to encourage, support and preserve all forms of art: painting, dimensional, and written. We wanted to build a community rich in beauty and culture.

We started slowly, introducing ourselves at the Bucyrus and Galion Farmer’s Markets and participating in community events like the car show and Candlelight Christmas. Soon we were hosting events like Arts in the Park and hanging art in the Partnership for Economic and Educational Development offices, the Galion Community Theater, and the Bucyrus Public Library. Becoming a 501(c)3 allowed us to seek grants from the Community Foundation for Crawford County and the Ohio Arts Council. This funding has provided free classes over the past years, including taking art projects to parks in Bucyrus and Galion, to the schools during lunch breaks, and to the Farmer’s Markets in Bucyrus, Galion, and Crestline.

In 2017 we leased space in a building allowing us to offer more classes and teaching to the community as well as giving us storage space and a gallery to showcase the amazing talent in our county. It is our mission to initiate, support
and preserve quality art experiences to strengthen Crawford County culturally, educationally, and economically.

We are supported in part by the Community Foundation for Crawford County, the Ohio Arts Council, and membership contributions.

Board of Directors

Joe Graham – President  [email protected]

Sandy Laipply — Vice President [email protected]

Debbi Gifford — Treasurer [email protected]

Trevor McCarthy — Secretary [email protected]

Laurie Scheffler — Board Member

Sandy Stone — Board Member

Brittany Whirl — Board Member

Brandon Adler — Board Member


Kaylee Powers — Executive Director [email protected]

Becca Adler — Instructor


Community Foundation for Crawford County